• Fri. Apr 12th, 2024


Latest news and insights world

2024 USC Scripter Awards Winners Checklist: ‘American Fiction’, ‘Gradual Horses’

2024 USC Scripter Awards Winners Checklist: 'American Fiction', 'Gradual Horses'

The thirty sixth annual USC Libraries Scripter Awards on Saturday named Wire Jefferson’s American Fiction its excellent movie variations, giving the Oscar-nominated script a lift main into subsequent weekend’s Academy Awards.

Apple TV+’s Gradual Horses received within the episodic collection class for a second 12 months in a row through the ceremony tonight on the College of Southern California’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library.

The Scripters honor writers of the 12 months’s most achieved movie and episodic TV collection variations, in addition to the writers of the works on which they’re primarily based.

American Fiction, written by Jefferson primarily based on the novel Percival Everett’s novel Erasure, was joined on tonight’s finalist listing by two different Oscar nominees, Christopher Nolan’s Oppenheimer and Tony McNamara’s Poor Issues. Additionally nominated tonight had been Ava DuVernay’s Origin and Martin Scorsese and Eric Roth’s Killers of the Flower Moon.

Barbie and The Zone of Curiosity are the opposite two tailored screenplays within the Oscar hunt this 12 months.

Final 12 months, Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews received the Scripter for Polley’s adaptation of Girls Speaking, primarily based on Toews’ novel. It went on to win the Tailored Screenplay Oscar.

Gradual Horses scribe Will Smith and creator Mick Herron received once more within the episodic class after being nominated once more this 12 months alongside Peter Morgan for The Crown; Scott Neustadter for Daisy Jones and the Six; Craig Mazin for The Final of Us; and Max Borenstein, Rodney Barnes and Jim Hecht for Profitable Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty.

The 2024 Scripter choice committee chosen finalists from a discipline of 80 movie and 56 episodic collection variations.

Source link

Source link